How To: ESP8266 – Remove/disable LED

In recent years, the ESP8266 has become more and more the universal microcontroller that can be used in almost any project. A microcontroller for ~2€ including Wi-Fi and with lots of memory can be found at most at the big brother the ESP32.

The ESP8266 exists in different versions and breakout-boards. The most common, because certified, version is the version ESP-12 with all its sub-variants. This one gives access to almost every GPIO and also the ADC, which is not always the case with other versions. But there is also one “disadvantage” …

A bright blue LED on the PCB of the ESP is indeed handy to see if the ESP is powered. But in projects in which the ESP8266 should be installed as invisibly as possible, this is quite disturbing.

But there are ways to get rid of these LEDs. How to do it and what you have to keep in mind is described in the following article.

Hints for our lovely english readers: Basically, many of the articles on Nerdiy.de are translations from the original german articles. Therefore, it may happen here and there that some illustrations are not available in english and that some translations are weird/strange/full of mistakes or generally totaly wrong. So if you find some obvious (or also not obvious) mistakes don't hesitate to leave us a hint about that in the comment section. 
Also please don't get confused, that instead of a "dot" often a "comma" is used as decimal separator. 🙂


Safety instructions

I know the following hints are always a bit annoying and seem unnecessary. But unfortunately, many people who knew it "better" from carelessness lost their eyes, fingers or other things or hurt themselves. In comparison, a loss of data is almost not worth mentioning, but even these can be really annoying. Therefore, please take five minutes to read the safety instructions. Even the coolest project is worth no injury or other annoyance. https://www.nerdiy.de/en/sicherheitshinweise/

Affiliate links / advertising links

The links to online shops listed here are so-called affiliate links. If you click on such an affiliate link and shop via this link, Nerdiy.de receives a commission from the online shop or provider concerned. The price doesn't change for you. If you do your purchases via these links, you will support Nerdiy.de in being able to offer further useful projects in the future. 🙂


Requirements

Helpful Articles:
In the case of the hardware solution, you should have already dealt with the soldering iron.
For this you can find more information in the article Electronics – My friend the soldering iron.

Required tools:
-none-

Required material:

In the following list you will find all the parts you need to implement this article.


The software solution

The simpler solution to the “LED problem” that requires no soldering iron or other tools is the software solution. Because a look at the circuit diagram of an ESP8266 in version 12 shows that the cathode of our problem LED (in the circuit diagram “LED1”) is connected to the GPIO02 via a resistor. And if there is a GPIO is, there is also a switching option by software. 🙂

It should be noted that the switching logic of this LED is inverted because the LEDs “negative pole” is connected to the GPIO. In other words, if the GPIO02 is HIGH, the LED turns off, but turns on when it is LOW. This must be considered when switching the GPIO2.

Circuit diagram of the ESP8266 in the version ESP-12. Source: bimbo385@freenet.de or https://vietnhap.com/dien-tu-so/tom-tat-esp8266-va-phan-loai-cac-ho-esp.htm

In case you program your ESP8266 yourself via the Arduino IDE, the following code is enough to deactivate the LED.

  #define GPIO02 2
  pinMode(GPIO02, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(GPIO02, HIGH);

If you happen to use ESPEasy as the “operating system” for the ESP8266, you can use the following built-in function.

All you have to do is log in to the Web menu of ESPEasy and set the correct GPIO in the “Hardware” tab in the “Wifi Status LED” section – in the case of the ESP-12, that is GPIO-2. The hook for “Inverse LED” must be set, because the LED is controlled with an inverted logic as described above. Do not forget to save the setting by pressing the “Submit” button.

The hardware solution

The hardware solution is the solution of choice if you want to disable the LED but still want to use the GPIO02 to interact with other hardware. The LED is simply soldered out. Especially the GPIO02 or D4 is on Wemos D1 mini-boards is likely to use – at least from me – because he is right next to the “5V” and “GND” pins.(Perfect to connect one of the famous WS2812B LED stripes) The only drawback: The LED is usually destroyed, but in most cases you can get over it.

The Wemos D1 mini board also uses an ESP8266 ESP-12 with integrated LED.
The LED is located at the front left corner between the housing shield (silver rectangle) and the PCB antenna (golden curved line on the PCB).
The LED can now be soldered out with a soldering iron. Heat alternately for about 10 seconds the left …
… and right contact of the LED. The LED heats up completely until you can push it by gentle pressure of the solder pads. Most of the time the LED breaks during this step. The individual parts can be removed very well with the soldering iron.
If the LED is removed, it should look like this.
Check again that the two solder pads are not short-circuited/connected by solder residues. This is very important as the GPIO2 is otherwise at a constant HIGH level and could be in the way of being used as a GPIO.

This is admittedly the most radical solution. At the same time, it is also the only solution to disable the LED if you want to use the GPIO02 for other outputs at the same time.


Additional information

https://vietnhap.com/dien-tu-so/tom-tat-esp8266-va-phan-loai-cac-ho-esp.htm


I hope everything worked as described. If not or you have any other questions or suggestions, please let me know in the comments. Also, ideas for new projects are always welcome. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Many of these projects - especially the hardware projects - cost a lot of time and money. Of course I do this because I enjoy it, but if you appreciate it that I share these information with you, I would be happy about a small donation to the coffee box. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HowTo: ESP8266 – LED entfernen/deaktivieren

Der ESP8266 ist in den letzten Jahren immer mehr zu dem universellen Wald-und-Wiesen-Mikrocontroller geworden den man in fast jedem Projekt einsetzen kann. Einen Mikrocontroller für ~2€ inklusive WLAN und mit üppigem Speicher findet man ansonsten höchstens beim großem Bruder dem ESP32.

Dabei gibt es den ESP8266 in verschiedenen Versionen. Die geläufigste, weil zertifizierte, Version ist dabei die Version ESP-12 mit all ihren Untervarianten. Durch diese kann man fast jeden GPIO und auch den ADC nutzen, was bei anderen Versionen nicht immer der Fall ist. Einen „Nachteil“ hat diese Version aber…

Eine hell leuchtende blaue LED auf dem PCB des ESP ist zwar praktisch um zu erkennen ob der ESP mit Energie versorgt wird. In Projekten in denen der ESP8266 möglichst unsichtbar angebracht werden soll ist diese allerdings ziemlich störend.

Aber es gibt Möglichkeiten diese LED los zu werden. Wie das geht und was Ihr dabei beachten müsst, ist im folgenden Artikel beschrieben.


Sicherheitshinweise

Ich weiß die folgenden Hinweise sind immer irgendwie lästig und wirken unnötig. Aber leider haben schon viele Menschen die es "besser" wussten aus Leichtsinnigkeit Augen, Finger oder anderes verloren bzw. sich verletzt. Im Vergleich dazu ist ein Datenverlust fast nicht der Rede Wert, aber auch diese können echt ärgerlich sein. Deswegen nehmt Euch bitte fünf Minuten Zeit um die Sicherheitshinweise zu lesen. Denn auch das coolste Projekt ist keine Verletzung oder anderen Ärger wert.
https://www.nerdiy.de/sicherheitshinweise/


Voraussetzungen

Hilfreiche Artikel:
Im Fall der Hardware-Lösung solltet Ihr euch bereits etwas mit dem Lötkolben beschäftigt haben.
Dazu könnt Ihr im Artikel Elektronik – Mein Freund der Lötkolben weitere Informationen finden.

Benötigtes Material:

– keins –

Benötigtes Werkzeug:

In der folgenden Liste findet Ihr alle Werkzeuge die Ihr zur Umsetzung dieses Artikels benötigt.


Die Software-Lösung

Die einfachere Lösung des „LED-Problems“, für die Ihr weder Lötkolben noch anderes Werkzeug benötigt, ist die Software-Lösung. Denn ein Blick in den Schaltplan eines ESP8266 in der Version 12 zeigt, dass die Kathode unserer Problem-LED(Im Schaltplan „LED1“) über einen Widerstand auf den GPIO02 geführt ist. Und dort wo ein GPIO ist, ist auch eine Schaltmöglichkeit per Software. 🙂

Zu beachten ist dabei, dass die Schaltlogik dieser LED invertiert ist, weil die LED mit Ihrem „Minuspol“ an den GPIO angeschlossen ist. Das heißt bei einem HIGH-Pegel an GPIO02 wird die LED ausgeschaltet, bei einem LOW-Pegel dagegen eingeschaltet. Dies muss man beim schalten des GPIO2 berücksichtigen.

Schaltplan des ESP8266 in der Version ESP-12. Quelle: bimbo385@freenet.de bzw. https://vietnhap.com/dien-tu-so/tom-tat-esp8266-va-phan-loai-cac-ho-esp.htm

Solltet Ihr Euren ESP8266 selber per Arduino IDE programmieren reicht also folgender Code um die LED zu deaktivieren.

  #define GPIO02 2
  pinMode(GPIO02, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(GPIO02, HIGH);

Falls Ihr dagegen zufällig ESPEasy als „Betriebssystem“ für den ESP8266 verwendet, könnt Ihr auf folgende, bereits integrierte Funktion zurückgreifen.

Dazu müsst Ihr euch lediglich in das WebMenü von ESPEasy einloggen und im Reiter „Hardware“ in der Sektion „Wifi Status LED“ den richtigen GPIO – im Falle der ESP-12 also GPIO-2 – einstellen. Der Haken bei „Inversed LED“ muss dabei gesetzt sein, da die LED wie oben beschrieben mit einer invertierten Logik gesteuert wird. Vergesst nicht die Einstellung zu speichern indem Ihr den „Submit“ Button betätigt.

Die Hardware-Lösung

Die Hardware-Lösung ist die Lösung Eurer Wahl, wenn Ihr die LED deaktivieren aber trotzdem den GPIO02 zur Interaktion mit anderer Hardware nutzen wollt. Dabei wird die LED einfach ausgelötet. Gerade der GPIO02 bzw. D4 wird auf Wemos D1-Mini-Boards – zumindest von mir – gerne verwendet, da er direkt neben den „5V“- und „GND“-Pins liegt. Einziger Nachteil: Die LED wird dabei meistens zerstört, was aber in den meisten Fällen zu verschmerzen ist.

Das Wemos D1-Mini-Board verwendet zum Beispiel auch einen ESP8266 ESP-12 mit integrierter LED.
Die LED findet Ihr an der vorderen linken Ecke zwischen der Gehäuseabschirmung(silbernes Rechteck) und der PCB-Antenne(goldene geschwungene Linie auf dem PCB).
Die LED könnt Ihr nun mit einem Lötkolben auslöten. Erhitzt dazu immer abwechselnd für ca. 10 Sekunden den linken…
…und rechten Kontakt der LED. Die LED erhitzt sich damit komplett bis ihr sie durch sanften Druck mit dem Lötkolben gegen das LED-Gehäuse von den Lötpads schieben könnt. Meistens geht die LED während dieses Schrittes kaputt und zerbricht. Das ist aber nicht schlimm. Die einzelnen Teile lassen sich mit dem Lötkolben sehr gut entfernen.
Ist die LED entfernt sollte das ganze so aussehen.
Überprüft dann nochmal, dass die beiden Lötpads nicht durch Lötzinn-Reste kurzgeschlossen/verbunden sind. Dies ist sehr wichtig, da der GPIO2 ansonsten auf einem ständigen HIGH Pegel liegt und damit der Verwendung als GPIO im Weg stehen könnte.

Dies ist zugegebenermaßen die radikalste Lösung. Gleichzeitig ist es aber auch die einzige Lösung die LED zu deaktivieren, wenn Ihr gleichzeitig den GPIO02 für andere Ausgaben verwenden wollt.


Weiterführende Informationen

https://vietnhap.com/dien-tu-so/tom-tat-esp8266-va-phan-loai-cac-ho-esp.htm


Ich hoffe bei euch hat alles wie beschrieben funktioniert. Falls nicht oder ihr Fragen oder Anregungen habt lasst es mich in den Kommentaren bitte wissen. Ich trage dies dann ggf. in den Artikel nach.
Auch Ideen für neue Projekte sind immer gerne willkommen. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Viele dieser Projekte - besonders die Hardwareprojekte - kosten viel Zeit und Geld. Natürlich mache ich das weil ich Spaß daran habe, aber wenn Du es cool findest, dass ich die Infos dazu mit Euch teile, würde ich mich über eine kleine Spende an die Kaffeekasse freuen. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.