HowTo: Electronics – Commissioning a new circuit

After the last component of a kit or the first prototype of your own circuit is done, you are often excited and impatient. Sometimes at this point you have two, three or more hours of often fiddly and highly concentrated work behind you. So now comes the long-awaited reward in the form of a perfectly functioning circuit.

This is not always the case, probably. even rarely. Often a prototype does not work after the first power up. Sometimes it’s just small mistakes that can be fixed quickly. But sometimes a mistake can lead to the destruction of one or more components.

In this case, the frustration is often huge. You have time and money invested and now none of it. To spare you this frustration there is one or a couple of important rules to follow.

Before the initial or re-commissioning of a circuit, you should always take a few measurements. These cost you in the worst case about five minutes and can save you a lot of money, frustration and time at the same time.

How to carry out such a “commissioning measurement” and what to pay attention to, is described in the following article.

Hints for our lovely english readers: Basically, many of the articles on Nerdiy.de are translations from the original german articles. Therefore, it may happen here and there that some illustrations are not available in english and that some translations are weird/strange/full of mistakes or generally totaly wrong. So if you find some obvious (or also not obvious) mistakes don't hesitate to leave us a hint about that in the comment section. 
Also please don't get confused, that instead of a "dot" often a "comma" is used as decimal separator. 🙂


Safety instructions

I know the following hints are always a bit annoying and seem unnecessary. But unfortunately, many people who knew it "better" from carelessness lost their eyes, fingers or other things or hurt themselves. In comparison, a loss of data is almost not worth mentioning, but even these can be really annoying. Therefore, please take five minutes to read the safety instructions. Even the coolest project is worth no injury or other annoyance. https://www.nerdiy.de/sicherheitshinweise/


Requirements

Of course, as you will need a measuring device for the following measurements, it is very helpful to know the basic functions of a measuring device. Information on this can be found in the following article.
Electronics – Functions of a multimeter

Required material:
-none-

Required tools:

In the following list you will find all the tools you need to implement this article.


Warning of high voltages and resulting currents

At this point again the important note: High voltages can be very dangerous. If you are unsure you should never work with voltages higher than 50V AC or 120V DC.

These voltages are the maximum allowable contact voltages for adults. These values assume that the current potentially flowing through the human body is not life threatening. Nevertheless, you should always avoid becoming a “part” of any kind of circuit. Information on this can be found again in the article Electronics – The functions of a multimeter (use for troubleshooting).

If you are unsure about anything, it is always better to ask qualified personnel for help. Because even the most annoying and stupid questions cause in any case less work and suffering than a funeral.


Set the multimeter correctly

As already mentioned in the prerequisites, you will need some functions of your multimeter during commissioning measurement. The individual functions are described in the article Electronics – Functions of a Multimeter. In this you will find information on how to set the multimeter for the respective measurements and what else should be considered.


Check for short circuit of supply lines and appropriate power

The first test you can do before your circuit is connected to a supply voltage is the short circuit test. It tests that the supply lines are clearly isolated from each other. They are clearly isolated from each other when they have a very high electrical resistance.

To do this, set the multimeter to resistance measurement and check the resistance from the positive to the negative supply line.

You must now be able to classify the measured value to be able to assess whether it is “okay” or “not okay”. In many cases, you will see an “OL” (Open Load), which means that the resistance is so high that it can not be determined by the meter (so that’s “Okay”), but in some cases you will get it lower values. In order to check whether this “lower” resistance value points to an error, you must check whether it can be plausible. You compare the measured value with the expected resistance value.

For example, if you measure a very low resistance – let’s say 1ohm – it’s most likely an indication of a short circuit.

It may also be that this value is absolutely appropriate. Let’s say you have designed a DC motor to take 25W at 5V supply voltage. In this case, the resistance of 1Ohm is absolutely fine.

You must always try to classify the measured value correctly.

The Ohm’s law is a great tool. Thanks to this you can determine from the measured resistance and the applied voltage which current your circuit would take up. Where:

Voltage=Resistance*Current

or in formula symbols

U=R*I

Practically, the active power of a circuit is also determined by the current and the voltage. Here is true:

Power=Voltage*Current

or again in formula symbols:

P=U*I

By mutual use of the respective formulas, you can also determine the power directly from the measured resistance and the corresponding current or voltage. Then:

P=\frac{U^2}{R}

or

P=I^2*R

So, and what does that bring us now? You can now practically calculate what power your circuit would pull. If you still have in mind what performance you expect, you can very well assess whether there is already an error or the measured values ​​are realistic for a functioning circuit.

The theoretical performance that your circuit should take can be determined by adding up the recorded services of the installed individual components. If you use in your circuit, for example, a microcontroller at 5V about 50mA, 10 LED’s at 5V record about 60mA and two sensors at 5V each about 10mA record so you can easily calculate the expected total recorded power.

To do this you first have to calculate the individual powers. Since we know the recorded currents of the individual components at the respective voltages, the recorded power can be calculated using the formula

P=U*I

to calculate.

The individual powers are then as follows:

Mikrocontroller: 5V*0,05A=0,25W

10*LEDs= 10*5V*0,06A=3W

2*Sensoren=2*5V*0,01A=0,1W

Together, this results in an expected drawn power of:

P_{Gesamt}=P_{Mikrocontroller}+P_{LEDs}+P_{Sensoren}

P_{Gesamt}=0,25W+3W+0,1W=3,35W

So now we have a clue in which area the recorded power of the circuit would be approximately. If the previously measured resistance of the circuit and the resulting power calculated from it is equal to, below, or just above it, you can assume that this should not cause any problems.

Attention: This procedure is only approximate for circuits that work with DC voltage. For devices that are also supplied with AC voltage (ie all devices that hang, for example, without power supply directly to the supply network), it is a bit more complicated, because these still a possibly existing inductive resistance must be considered.


Continuity check of connections

A popular mistake that has often happened (at least for me) is that some connections are forgotten. Just one forgotten soldering point at the wrong position is enough to make the whole circuit stop working.

To avoid this, it is advisable to “beep” all the connections after assembly. This means that it is checked whether all connections specified in the circuit diagram also exist in the established circuit.

To do this, you must set the multimeter for continuity testing or, if not available, for resistance measurement. The continuity test is a bit more comfortable as the multimeter confirms a correct connection in this case with a “beeping”. Therefore, the phrase “beep through connections”.

Now go through all the connections shown in the circuit diagram and check whether they also exist in your build circuit. You can also find information about this in the article Electronics – Using the functions of a multimeter (for troubleshooting) in the Continuity test section


Checking short circuits to signal lines

Even with concentrated work, mistakes can sometimes creep into the structure of one’s own circuit. Most of these result in unwanted short circuits. Especially with signal lines which are used, for example, for communication of a microcontroller with connected sensors, this often leads to the fact that the sensor no longer works or even can be destroyed.

In this case, a few measurements per signal line are sufficient to rule out this error.

Put your meter on continuity and check that there is really no connection between signal lines and adjacent lines and supply voltage and ground. Orient yourself to the wiring diagram and check again if only the contacts are electrically connected that should be electrically connected. Information on the continuity test can be found again in the article Electronics – The functions of a multimeter (use for troubleshooting) in the section Continuity test


Voltage test of the (secondary) supply voltage

Now you have already taken a few measurements and if you have come here without errors that looks very good. The following measurement is actually no measurement that is performed “before” the commissioning, because you have to connect your circuit for the first time to the supply voltage.

The goal is to ensure that your circuit is supplied with the desired voltage. If you’re using a power supply to power your circuit, it’s a good idea to turn on the power supply first and measure the voltage on the low-voltage plug on the power supply.

Set your multimeter to voltage measurement. Be sure to set the correct voltage type. In many cases, although low-voltage power supply units use direct current (DC), it makes sense to play it safe by checking the imprint on the power supply. You will also find tips on the information printed on the power supply units in the article Power Supplies – Correctly Dimensioning and Understanding the Data Sheet.

Now measure the voltage of the low-voltage connection. This should be in the range of the also printed voltage value.


Start up the circuit step by step

In the paragraph “Step by step structure to avoid/detect errors” of the article Electronics – The functions of a multimeter (use for troubleshooting) is described why it makes sense to take a circuit “piece by piece” in operation. This procedure can already avoid many mistakes or makes it easier to fix them.


Additional information

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pr%C3%BCfen_(VDE)

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kleinspannung

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ber%C3%BChrungsspannung


I hope everything worked as described. If not or you have any other questions or suggestions, please let me know in the comments. Also, ideas for new projects are always welcome. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Many of these projects - especially the hardware projects - cost a lot of time and money. Of course I do this because I enjoy it, but if you appreciate it that I share these information with you, I would be happy about a small donation to the coffee box. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HowTo: Elektronik – Inbetriebnahme einer neuen Schaltung

Nachdem das letzte Bauteil eines Bausatzes oder der erste Prototyp einer eigenen Schaltung fertig ist, ist man oft aufgeregt und ungeduldig. Manchmal hat man an diesem Punkt zwei, drei oder mehr Stunden oft fummeliger und hochkonzentrierter Arbeit hinter sich. Also kommt nun die lang ersehnte Belohnung in Form einer perfekt funktionierenden Schaltung.

So läuft es leider nicht immer, vllt. sogar eher selten ab. Oft funktioniert ein Prototyp nach dem ersten Einschalten nicht. Manchmal sind es nur kleine Fehler die sich schnell beheben lassen. Manchmal kann ein Fehler aber auch zur Zerstörung einzelner oder mehrerer Bauteile führen.

In diesem Fall ist die Frustration oft riesig. Man hat Zeit und Geld investiert un nun nichts davon. Um Euch diese Frustration zu ersparen gibt es eine bzw. ein Paar wichtige Regeln zu beachten.

Vor der Erst- oder Wieder- Inbetriebnahme einer Schaltung solltet Ihr immer ein paar Messungen machen. Diese kosten Euch im schlimmsten Fall ca. fünf Minuten Zeit und können Euch aber gleichzeitig eine Menge Geld, Frust und Zeit sparen.

Wie Ihr so eine „Inbetriebnahme-Messung“ durchführt und was es dabei zu beachten gibt, ist im folgenden Artikel beschrieben.


Sicherheitshinweise

Ich weiß die folgenden Hinweise sind immer irgendwie lästig und wirken unnötig. Aber leider haben schon viele Menschen die es "besser" wussten aus Leichtsinnigkeit Augen, Finger oder anderes verloren bzw. sich verletzt. Im Vergleich dazu ist ein Datenverlust fast nicht der Rede Wert, aber auch diese können echt ärgerlich sein. Deswegen nehmt Euch bitte fünf Minuten Zeit um die Sicherheitshinweise zu lesen. Denn auch das coolste Projekt ist keine Verletzung oder anderen Ärger wert.
https://www.nerdiy.de/sicherheitshinweise/


Voraussetzungen

Da Ihr für die nun folgenden Messungen natürlich ein Messgerät benötigt ist es sehr hilfreich die Grundfunktionen eines Messgeräts zu kennen. Informationen dazu findet Ihr im folgenden Artikel.
Elektronik – Funktionen eines Multimeters

Benötigtes Material:
-keins-

Benötigtes Werkzeug:

In der folgenden Liste findet Ihr alle Werkzeuge die Ihr zur Umsetzung dieses Artikels benötigt.


Warnung vor hohen Spannungen und daraus resultierenden Strömen

An dieser Stelle nochmal der wichtige Hinweis: Hohe Spannungen können sehr gefährlich sein. Wenn Ihr Euch unsicher seid solltet Ihr niemals mit Spannungen arbeiten die höher als 50V AC(Wechselspannung) oder 120V DC(Gleichspannung) sind.

Diese Spannungen sind die maximal zulässigen Berührungsspannungen für Erwachsene. Bei diesen Werten geht man davon aus, dass der potentiell über den menschlichen Körper fließende Strom nicht lebensbedrohlich ist. Trotzdem solltet Ihr es natürlich immer vermeiden „ein Teil“ eines wie auch immer gearteten Stromkreises zu werden. Infos dazu findet Ihr auch nochmal in dem Artikel Elektronik – Die Funktionen eines Multimeters (zur Fehlersuche nutzen).

Solltet Ihr Euch wegen irgendetwas unsicher sein ist es immer besser ausgebildetes Fachpersonal um Hilfe zu bitten. Denn selbst die nervigsten und dümmsten Fragen verursachen in jedem Fall weniger Arbeit und Leid als eine Beerdigung.


Multimeter richtig einstellen

Wie bereits in den Voraussetzungen erwähnt benötigt Ihr bei der Inbetriebnahme-Messung einige Funktionen Eures Multimeters. Die einzelnen Funktionen sind im Artikel Elektronik – Funktionen eines Multimeters beschrieben. In diesem findet Ihr Infos wie Ihr das Multimeter für die jeweiligen Messungen einstellen müsst und was dabei sonst noch zu beachten ist.


Prüfen auf Kurzschluss der Versorgungsleitungen und passender Leistung

Die erste Prüfung die Ihr durchführen könnt, bevor Eure Schaltung an eine Versorgungsspannung angeschlossen wird, ist der Kurzschluss-test. Dabei wird getestet, ob die Versorgungsleitungen auch eindeutig voneinander isoliert sind. Eindeutig voneinander isoliert sind sie wenn sie einen sehr hohen elektrischen Widerstand haben.

Stellt dazu das Multimeter auf Widerstandsmessung ein und prüft den Widerstand von der positiven zur negativen Versorgungsleitung.

Den gemessenen Wert müsst Ihr nun etwas einordnen können um einschätzen zu können ob er „Okay“ oder „nicht Okay“ ist. In vielen Fällen wird Euch zwar ein „OL“(Open Load) angezeigt, was bedeutet, dass der Widerstand so groß ist, dass er vom Messgerät nicht bestimmt werden kann(Das ist also „Okay“), in manchen Fällen erhaltet Ihr aber auch niedrigere Werte. Um nun zu prüfen ob dieser „niedrigere“ Widerstandswert auf einen Fehler hinweißt müsst Ihr prüfen ob dieser Plausibel sein kann. Ihr vergleicht den gemessenen Wert dazu mit dem erwarteten Widerstandswert.

Messt Ihr zum Beispiel einen sehr niedrigen Widerstandswert – sagen wir mal 1Ohm – ist das sehr wahrscheinlich ein Hinweis auf einen Kurzschluss.

Es kann aber auch sein, dass dieser Wert absolut passend ist. Nehmen wir an Ihr habt einen Gleichstrommotor konstruiert der bei 5V Versorgungsspannung 25W aufnehmen soll. In diesem Fall ist der Widerstand von 1Ohm absolut in Ordnung.

Ihr müsst also immer versuchen den gemessenen Wert richtig einzuordnen.

Dabei ist das ohmsche Gesetz ein tolles Hilfsmittel. Dank diesem könnt Ihr nämlich aus dem gemessenen Widerstand und der angelegten Spannung bestimmen welchen Strom Eure Schaltung aufnehmen würde. Dabei gilt:

Spannung= Widerstand*Strom

oder in Formelzeichen

U=R*I

Praktischerweise ist die Wirkleistung einer Schaltung auch durch den Strom und die Spannung zu ermitteln. Hier gilt nämlich:

Leistung=Spannung*Strom

oder wieder in Formelzeichen:

P=U*I

Durch gegenseitiges einsetzen der jeweiligen Formeln könnt Ihr so auch die Leistung direkt aus dem gemessenen Widerstand und dem entsprechenden Strom oder Spannung ermitteln. Dann gilt:

P=\frac{U^2}{R}

oder

P=I^2*R

So, und was bringt uns das nun? Ihr könnt nun praktisch berechnen welche Leistung Eure Schaltung aufnehmen würde. Wenn Ihr dann noch im Hinterkopf habt welche aufgenommene Leistung Ihr erwartet, könnt Ihr sehr gut einschätzen ob hier bereits ein Fehler vorliegt oder die gemessenen Werte realistisch für eine funktionierende Schaltung sind.

Die theoretische Leistung die Eure Schaltung aufnehmen sollte könnt Ihr ermitteln indem Ihr die aufgenommenen Leistungen der verbauten einzelnen Komponenten zusammenrechnet. Verwendet Ihr in Eurer Schaltung zum Beispiel einen Mikrocontroller der bei 5V ca. 50mA aufnimmt, 10 LED’s die bei 5V ca. 60mA aufnehmen und zwei Sensoren die bei 5V jeweils ca. 10mA aufnehmen  so könnt Ihr die erwartete aufgenommen Gesamtleistung leicht berechnen.

Dazu müsst Ihr zunächst die einzelnen Leistungen berechnen. Da wir die aufgenommenen Ströme der einzelnen Bauteile bei den jeweiligen Spannungen kennen, lässt sich die aufgenommene Leistung mit der Formel

P=U*I

berechnen.

Die einzelnen Leistungen sind dann wie folgt:

Mikrocontroller: 5V*0,05A=0,25W

10*LEDs= 10*5V*0,06A=3W

2*Sensoren=2*5V*0,01A=0,1W

Zusammengerechnet ergibt sich also eine erwartbare aufgenommene Leistung von:

P_{Gesamt}=P_{Mikrocontroller}+P_{LEDs}+P_{Sensoren}

P_{Gesamt}=0,25W+3W+0,1W=3,35W

Wir haben nun also einen Anhaltspunkt in welchem Bereich die aufgenommene Leistung der Schaltung in etwa liegen würde. Wenn der zuvor gemessene Widerstand der Schaltung und die daraus berechnete aufgenommene Leistung diesem Wert entspricht, darunter oder nur leicht da drüber ist, könnt Ihr davon ausgehen, dass dies keine Probleme verursachen sollte.

Achtung: Dieses Vorgehen gilt so nur Näherungsweise für Schaltungen die mit Gleichspannung funktionieren. Bei Geräten die auch mit Wechselspannung (Also alle Geräte die zum Beispiel ohne Netzteil direkt am Versorgungsnetz hängen) versorgt werden ist es etwas komplizierter, weil bei diesen noch ein eventuell vorhandener Induktiver Widerstand berücksichtigt werden muss. 


Durchgangsprüfung von Verbindungen

Ein beliebter Fehler der (zumindest mir) oft passiert ist, dass manche Verbindungen vergessen werden. Dabei reicht schon ein vergessener Lötpunkt und schon funktioniert ein z.B. angeschlossener Sensor nicht mehr oder nicht mehr korrekt.

Um dies zu vermeiden empfiehlt es sich nach dem Zusammenbau ein mal alle Verbindungen „durch zu piepen“. Das heißt es wird geprüft ob alle im Schaltplan angegebenen Verbindungen auch in der aufgebauten Schaltung existieren.

Dazu müsst Ihr das Multimeter auf Durchgangsprüfung oder falls nicht vorhanden auf Widerstandsmessung einstellen. Die Durchgangsprüfung ist etwas komfortabler, da das Multimeter eine korrekte Verbindung in diesem Fall mit einem „Piepen“ bestätigt. Deswegen auch die Formulierung „Verbindungen durchpiepen“.

Geht nun alle im Schaltplan gezeigten Verbindungen durch und prüft ob diese auch in Eurer aufgebauten Schaltung bestehen. Infos dazu findet Ihr auch in dem Artikel Elektronik – Die Funktionen eines Multimeters (zur Fehlersuche nutzen) im Abschnitt Durchgangsprüfung


Prüfen von Kurzschlüssen zu Signalleitungen

Auch bei konzentriertem Arbeiten können sich mal Fehler in den Aufbau der eigenen Schaltung einschleichen. Meistens resultieren diese in ungewollten Kurzschlüssen. Gerade bei Signalleitungen die beispielsweise zur Kommunikation eines Mikrocontrollers mit angeschlossenen Sensoren genutzt werden führt dies oft dazu, das der Sensor nicht mehr funktioniert oder sogar zerstört werden kann.

In diesem Fall reichen pro Signalleitung ein paar Messungen um diesen Fehler auszuschließen.

Stellt Euer Messgerät auf Durchgangsprüfung und prüft das auch wirklich keine Verbindung zwischen Signalleitungen und benachbarten Leitungen sowie zur Versorgungsspannung und Masse bestehen. Orientiert Euch dazu am Schaltplan und prüft wieder ob wirklich nur die Kontakte elektrisch verbunden sind die auch elektrisch verbunden sein sollten. Infos zur Durchgangsprüfung findet Ihr wieder im Artikel Elektronik – Die Funktionen eines Multimeters (zur Fehlersuche nutzen) im Abschnitt Durchgangsprüfung


Spannungsprüfung der (sekundären) Versorgungsspannung

Nun habt Ihr bereits ein paar Messungen durchgeführt und wenn Ihr bis hierhin ohne Fehler gekommen seid sieht das auch schon sehr gut aus. Die nun folgende Messung ist eigentlich keine Messung die „vor“ der Inbetriebnahme durchgeführt wird, denn dazu müsst Ihr Eure Schaltung das erste Mal an die Versorgungsspannung anschließen.

Ziel ist es sicherzustellen, dass Eure Schaltung mit der gewünschten Spannung versorgt wird. Wenn Ihr ein Netzteil verwendet um Eure Schaltung mit Energie zu versorgen so empfiehlt es sich zunächst das Netzteil einzuschalten und die Spannung am Niederspannungs-Stecker des Netzteils zu messen.

Stellt Euer Multimeter auf Spannungsmessung. Achtet dabei auch darauf die korrekte Spannungsart einzustellen. In vielen Fällen nutzen Niederspannungs-Netzteile zwar Gleichspannung(DC) aber hier ist es sinnvoll auf Nummer sicher zu gehen indem Ihr den Aufdruck auf dem Netzteil prüft. Tips zu den auf den Netzteilen aufgedruckten Informationen findet Ihr auch in dem Artikel Netzteile – Richtig dimensionieren und Datenblatt verstehen.

Messt nun die Spannung des Niederspannungs-Anschlusses. Diese sollte im Bereich des ebenfalls aufgedruckten Spannungs-Wertes sein.


Schaltung Schrittweise in Betrieb nehmen

In dem Absatz „Schrittweiser Aufbau um Fehler zu vermeiden/direkt zu erkennen“ des Artikels „Elektronik – Die Funktionen eines Multimeters (zur Fehlersuche nutzen)“ ist beschrieben, warum es sinnvoll ist eine Schaltung „Stück für Stück“ in Betrieb zu nehmen. Durch dieses Vorgehen lassen sich bereits viele Fehler vermeiden bzw. leicht beheben.


Weiterführende Informationen

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pr%C3%BCfen_(VDE)

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kleinspannung

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ber%C3%BChrungsspannung


Ich hoffe bei euch hat alles wie beschrieben funktioniert. Falls nicht oder ihr Fragen oder Anregungen habt lasst es mich in den Kommentaren bitte wissen. Ich trage dies dann ggf. in den Artikel nach.
Auch Ideen für neue Projekte sind immer gerne willkommen. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Viele dieser Projekte - besonders die Hardwareprojekte - kosten viel Zeit und Geld. Natürlich mache ich das weil ich Spaß daran habe, aber wenn Du es cool findest, dass ich die Infos dazu mit Euch teile, würde ich mich über eine kleine Spende an die Kaffeekasse freuen. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.