HowTo: Display/find out the IP address of the devices in the network

Especially if you are a bit more concerned with the Internet, network or your own SmartHome, sooner or later you will face the problem of finding out the IP addresses of individual devices in the network.

Two easy ways to find out about the devices-ip-adresse are described in the following article.

Hints for our lovely english readers: Basically, many of the articles on Nerdiy.de are translations from the original german articles. Therefore, it may happen here and there that some illustrations are not available in english and that some translations are weird/strange/full of mistakes or generally totaly wrong. So if you find some obvious (or also not obvious) mistakes don't hesitate to leave us a hint about that in the comment section. 
Also please don't get confused, that instead of a "dot" often a "comma" is used as decimal separator. 🙂


Display IP addresses with the program “Advanced IP Scanner”

If you have access to a Windows machine that is also logged into the network whose network participants (and their IP addresses) you want to determine, you can do so with the free software “Advanced IP Scanner”. These can be downloaded at https://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/.
How to download and install programs is described in the articles Downloads / Uploads – How to get the data out of the internet and get rid of it and install programs.

After downloading, installing and launching the program, you should have this view in front of you. There you can now click on “Scan”. This scans the IP address space, including your computer. If you want to scan another address space, you can set this in the upper text line.
After scanning is complete, all network participants will be listed in a list. Here you can see from each device in the network the IP address, the domain name, the MAC address and information about the manufacturer.
If you still want to have more information about a particular device, you can click on the arrow next to the device. There you will then see open ports and network services offered there.

Show IP addresses with the app “Fing”

Of course, what works on the Windows computer also works on the smartphone. The app “Fing” is very useful for that. In principle, this is exactly the same as the “Advanced IP Scanner”. Download the app “Fing” and install it. After you have started it, your network in which you are logged in will be scanned automatically.

The resulting list contains all network participants and their data such as IP address, MAC address, domain name and manufacturer information.
If you click on one of the network participants found, you will be directed to a detailed view with additional functions. There you can – as with the Advanced IP Scanner also – scan the services, ping the network attendee (So test the response time), track the network route and send a MagicPaket to wake up this network participant from the Stanby (if this is configured for WOL).
View of the ping function.
View of the feature that shows you the network services offered by a network participant.

I hope everything worked as described. If not or you have any other questions or suggestions, please let me know in the comments. Also, ideas for new projects are always welcome. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Many of these projects - especially the hardware projects - cost a lot of time and money. Of course I do this because I enjoy it, but if you appreciate it that I share these information with you, I would be happy about a small donation to the coffee box. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HowTo: IP-Adresse der Geräte im Netzwerk anzeigen/herausfinden

Gerade wenn man sich etwas mehr mit dem Internet, Netzwerk oder dem eigenen SmartHome beschäftigt, steht man früher oder später vor dem Problem wie man die IP-Adressen einzelner Geräte im Netzwerk herausfindet.

Zwei einfache Wege wie man diese herausfinden kann, sind im folgenden Artikel beschrieben


IP-Adressen mit dem Programm „Advanced IP Scanner“ anzeigen

Habt Ihr Zugriff auf einen Windows-Rechner, der gleichzeitig auch in dem Netzwerk angemeldet ist, dessen Netzwerkteilnehmer (und deren IP-Adressen) Ihr ermitteln wollt, so könnt Ihr dies mit der kostenlosen Software „Advanced IP Scanner“ machen. Diese könnt Ihr unter https://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/ herunterladen.
Wie Ihr Programme herunterladen und installieren könnt, ist in den Artikeln Downloads/Uploads – Wie die Daten aus dem Internet kommen und wieder dahin verschwinden und Programme installieren – ein Beispiel beschrieben.

Nachdem Ihr das Programm heruntergeladen, installiert und gestartet habt, solltet Ihr diese Ansicht vor Euch haben. Dort könnt Ihr nun direkt auf „Scannen“ klicken. Dadurch wird der IP-Adressraum gescannt, indem sich auch Euer Computer befindet. Solltet Ihr einen anderen Adressraum scannen wollen, so könnt Ihr diesen in der oberen Textzeile einstellen.
Nachdem der Scanvorgang abgeschlossen ist, werden Euch alle Netzwerkteilnehmer in einer Lilste aufgeführt. Hier könnt Ihr von jedem Gerät im netzwerk die IP-Adresse, den Domainnamen, die MAC-Adresse und Informationen zum Hersteller sehen.
Solltet Ihr noch Mehr Informationen zu einem bestimmten Gerät haben wollen, so könnt Ihr auf den Pfeil neben dem Gerät klicken. Dort werden euch dann offene Ports und dort angebotene Netzwerkservices angezeigt.

IP-Adressen mit der App „Fing“ anzeigen

Was auf dem Windows Computer funktioniert, funktioniert natürlich auch auf dem Smartphone. Dazu ist die App „Fing“ sehr nützlich. Diese macht im Prinzip genau das gleiche wie der „Advanced IP Scanner“. Ladet euch dazu die App „Fing“ herunter und installiert sie. Nachdem Ihr sie gestartet habt, wird euer Netzwerk in dem Ihr eingeloggt seid automatisch gescannt.

In der enstehenden Liste sind alle Netzwerteilnehmer und deren Daten wie IP-Adresse, MAC-Adresse, Domainnamen und Herstellerinformationen enthalten.
Klickt Ihr auf einen der gefundenen Netzwerkteilnehmer, werdet Ihr zu einer Detailansicht mit weiteren Funktionen geleitet. Dort könnt Ihr – wie beim Advanced IP Scanner auch – die Dienste scannen, den Netzwerteilnehmer anpingen(Also die Antwortzeit testen), die Netzwerkroute verfolgen und ein MagicPaket senden um diesen Netzwerkteilnehmer aus dem Stanby aufzuwecken(falls dieser für WOL konfiguriert ist).
Ansicht der Ping-Funktion.
Ansicht der Funktion, die euch die angebotenen Netzwerkservices eines Netzwerkteilnehmers anzeigt.

Ich hoffe bei euch hat alles wie beschrieben funktioniert. Falls nicht oder ihr Fragen oder Anregungen habt lasst es mich in den Kommentaren bitte wissen. Ich trage dies dann ggf. in den Artikel nach.
Auch Ideen für neue Projekte sind immer gerne willkommen. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Viele dieser Projekte - besonders die Hardwareprojekte - kosten viel Zeit und Geld. Natürlich mache ich das weil ich Spaß daran habe, aber wenn Du es cool findest, dass ich die Infos dazu mit Euch teile, würde ich mich über eine kleine Spende an die Kaffeekasse freuen. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.