pxlBlck – An IOT/SmartHome information system

pxlBlck is a system of hardware and software to set up an information system for the SmartHome. Various software and hardware options are available. Thanks to the integration in an ESPEasy plug-in, the pxlBlck’s can be automated without external automation software. In combination with external automation software (e.g. NodeRed, MQTT server, etc …), various notifications such as a doorbell, notifications via social media (e.g. WhatsApp, Facebook, …), call notifications on mobile devices and landlines can also be displayed.

Each pxlBlck can be equipped with several sensors. It is also possible to measure different environmental data, to forward this data via WiFi and/or to react to this measurement data.


Short overview

Each pxlBlck type shown is operated using the pxlBlck plug-in for ESPEasy. The LED matrix or hardware used can be specified in the ESPEasy web overview.


History of origin

Originally the pxlBlck consisted of an 8×8 WS2812 aka Neopixel LED matrix (looks like a square/block of pixels. Hence the name :)), which is controlled by an ESP8266 and the corresponding software.

The aim was to keep up to date with the events in my SmartHome in a simple way. It kind of bothered me that I collect all kinds of data with my SmartHome, but rarely see this data.

For example, I was informed on my smartphone when the doorbell rang, but what if I do not have my cell phone with me at the moment (which can happen at home)?
(Admittedly, a little luxury problem for me, but for people with hearing problems this is a real problem.)

So I was looking for an easy way to get information about current events in the SmartHome. Ideally, this type of “SmartHome Event Viewer” would also be so cheap and discreet that I can equip any room with it.

In the meantime I have integrated the software component into an ESPEasy plug-in. With the help of this “pxlBlck plugin” it is now possible to control not only the 8×8 LED matrix used at the beginning. Over time, new types of matrices have been developed and added.

Here is the (so far) list of supported WS2812 aka Neopixel LED matrices:

  • 10×10
  • 8×8
  • 16×16
  • 8×24
  • 8×32 (=Pot)
  • 1×60 (= ringClock, ringClockMini, slotClock)
  • digitClock
  • PipeLamp
  • FibonacciClock
  • WordClock

Overview of the hardware platforms

In the following paragraph you will find an overview of the supported pxlblck platforms. These each contain an LED matrix in different sizes. With the help of one of the pxlBlck platforms you can set up an information display that provides you with important information and events from your SmartHome in a decorative and unobtrusive way – if necessary.

pxlBlck_Pot

The pxlBlck_Pot consists of an 32×8 LED matrix that is built into a 3D printed planter. The LED matrix is only visible when it is switched on.

You can find the detailed instructions for building the pxlBlck_Pot in the article pxlBlck – Build your own pxlBlck_Pot


pxlBlck_8x8

The pxlBlck_8x8 consists of an 8×8 LED matrix and due to its small size (7x7x3cm) it can also be used without taking up a lot of space. If desired, the time can be displayed on different dials. Animations and user-defined icons can be displayed for events.

You can find the detailed instructions for building the pxlBlck_8x8 in the article pxlBlck – Build your own pxlBlck_8x8


pxlBlck_SlotClock

The pxlBlck_SlotClock consists of a 1×60 LED matrix (basically an LED strip) which is inserted into a 3D printed base and covered with a milky, milky plexiglass plate. With the help of the circular division into 60 equal segments, the time can be displayed using the familiar “analog time” scheme.

You can find the detailed instructions for building the pxlBlck_SlotClock in the article pxlBlck – Build your own pxlBlck_SlotClock


pxlBlck_RingClock

The pxlBlck_RingClock is very similar to the pxlBlck_SlotClock. It is also built using a 1×60 LED matrix and can display the time according to the same scheme as the pxlBlck_SlotClock. However, the LED strip of the pxlBlck_RingClock is installed in a ring and not in a disc. This makes the design of the watch even more unobtrusive. The microcontroller for control is built into the base of the pxlBlck_RingClock.

You can find the detailed instructions for building the pxlBlck_RingClock in the article pxlBlck – Build your own pxlBlck_RingClock


pxlBlck_PipeLamp

The pxlBlck_PipeLamp consists of a 26cm high column. A 12×8 LED matrix is installed behind the satined Plexiglas tube, which can display various animations and, if desired, dials. Up to four tilt switches can be installed in the base of the pxlBlck_pipeLamp. This allows user-defined actions to be triggered by tilting and tilting the pxlBlck_pipeLamp.

You can find the detailed instructions for building the pxlBlck_RingClock in the article pxlBlck – Build your own pxlBlck_PipeLamp


The pxlBlck plugin

To control the different platforms, you can use the pxlBlck plug-in for ESPEasy. ESPEasy is a framework for the ESP8266 and ESP32 microcontrollers. With the help of plugins its basic functionality acn be extended.

The pxlBlck plugin is such a plugin. It takes over the control of the different platforms and also offers various functions, animations and features that can be executed via commands.

How to install this plugin including ESPEasy on your pxlBlck platform and how to use the various features is described in the following articles.


I hope everything worked as described. If not or you have any other questions or suggestions, please let me know in the comments. Also, ideas for new projects are always welcome. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Many of these projects - especially the hardware projects - cost a lot of time and money. Of course I do this because I enjoy it, but if you appreciate it that I share these information with you, I would be happy about a small donation to the coffee box. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

pxlBlck – Ein IOT/SmartHome Informations-System

pxlBlck ist ein System aus Hard- und Software um ein Informationssystem für das SmartHome aufzubauen. Es stehen verschiedene Software- und Hardwareoptionen zur Verfügung. Dank der Integration in ein EspEasy-Plugin können die pxlBlck’s ohne externe Automatisierungssoftware automatisiert werden. In Kombination mit externer Automatisierungssoftware (z. B. NodeRed, MQTT-Server, etc…) können auch verschiedene Benachrichtigungen wie ein Türklingeln, Benachrichtigungen über soziale Medien (z. B. WhatsApp, Facebook, …), Anrufbenachrichtigungen auf Mobilgeräten und Festnetz usw. angezeigt werden.

Jeder pxlBlck kann mit mehreren Sensoren ausgestattet werden. So ist es auch möglich, unterschiedliche Umgebungsdaten zu messen, diese Daten über WLAN weiterzuleiten und/oder auf diese Messdaten zu reagieren.


Kurzer Überblick

Jeder gezeigte pxlBlck-Typ wird mithilfe des pxlBlck-Plugins für EspEasy betrieben. Der verwendete LED Matrix bzw. Hardware kann in der Webübersicht von EspEasy festgelegt werden.


Entstehungsgeschichte

Ursprünglich bestand der pxlBlck aus einer 8×8 WS2812 aka Neopixel LED-Matrix (sieht aus wie ein Quadrat/Block aus Pixeln. Daher der Name :)), die von einem ESP8266 und einer entsprechenden Software angesteuert wird.

Ziel war es, auf einfache Weise über die Ereignisse in meinem SmartHome auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben. Es hat mich irgendwie gestört, dass ich mit meinem SmartHome alle Arten von Daten sammle, diese Daten aber selten sehe.

Zum Beispiel wurde ich auf meinem Smartphone informiert, wenn es an der Tür geklingelt hat, aber was ist, wenn ich mein Handy momentan nicht (direkt) bei mir habe (was zu Hause passieren kann)?
(Zugegeben: Ein kleines Luxusproblem für mich, aber für Menschen mit Gehörproblemen ist dies ein echtes Problem.)

Deshalb suchte ich nach einer einfachen Möglichkeit, Informationen über aktuelle Ereignisse im SmartHome zu erhalten. Im Idealfall wäre diese Art von „SmartHome-Ereignisanzeige“ auch so billig und diskret, dass ich jeden Raum damit ausstatten kann.

In der Zwischenzeit habe ich die Softwarekomponente in ein ESPEasy-Plugin integriert. Mit Hilfe dieses „pxlBlck-Plugins“ ist es nun möglich, nicht nur die zu Beginn verwendete 8×8 LED-Matrix zu steuern.
Im Laufe der Zeit wurden neue Matrixtypen entwickelt und hinzugefügt.

Hier ist die (bisherige)Liste der unterstützen WS2812 aka Neoopixel LED-Matrizen:

  • 10×10
  • 8×8
  • 16×16
  • 8×24
  • 8×32 (=Pot)
  • 1×60 (= ringClock, ringClockMini, slotClock)
  • digitClock
  • PipeLamp
  • FibonacciClock
  • WordClock

Übersicht der Hardware-Platformen

Im folgenden Absatz findet Ihr eine Übersicht über die unterstützen pxlblck-Platformen. Diese enthalten jeweils eine LED Matrix in unterschiedlichen Größen. Mithilfe einer der pxlBlck-Plattformen könnt Ihr eine Info-Display aufbauen, dass Euch dekorativ und unaufdringlich – wenn Nötig – mit wichtigen Informationen und Ereignissen aus Eurem SmartHome versorgt..

pxlBlck_Pot

Der pxlBlck_Pot besteht aus einer 8×32 LED Matrix die in einen 3D gedruckten Übertopf verbaut ist. Dabei ist die LED-Matrix nur im eingeschalteten Zustand sichtbar.

Die detaillierte Bauanleitung zum Aufbau des pxlBlck_Pots findet Ihr im Artikel pxlBlck – pxlBlck_Pot aufbauen


pxlBlck_8x8

Der pxlBlck_8x8 besteht aus einer 8×8 LED matrix und kann durch seine geringe Größe (7x7x3cm) auch ohne viel Platzbedarf genutzt werden. Wenn gewünscht kann die Uhrzeit über verschiedene Ziffernblätter angezeigt werden. Bei Ereignissen können Animationen und auch benutzerdefinierte Icons angezeigt werden.

Die detaillierte Bauanleitung zum Aufbau des pxlBlck_8x8 findet Ihr im Artikel pxlBlck – pxlBlck_8x8 aufbauen


pxlBlck_SlotClock

Die pxlBlck_SlotClock besteht aus einer 1×60 LED Matrix (also im Prinzip einem LED-Streifen) die in eine 3D gedruckte Basis eingelegt und mit einem milchiger milchigen Plexiglasplatte abgedeckt ist. Mithilfe der Kreisrunden Einteilung in 60 gleiche Segmente kann die Uhrzeit nach dem bekannten „analogen Uhrzeit“-Schema dargestellt werden.

Die detaillierte Bauanleitung zum Aufbau der pxlBlck_SlotClock findet Ihr im Artikel pxlBlck – pxlBlck_SlotClock


pxlBlck_RingClock

Die pxlBlck_RingClock ist der pxlBlck_SlotClock sehr ähnlich. Sie ist auch mithilfe einer 1×60 LED-Matrix aufgebaut und kann die Uhrzeit nach dem gleichen Schema wie die pxlBlck_SlotClock darstellen. Jedoch ist der LED-Streifen bei der pxlBlck_RingClock in einem Ring und nicht in einer Scheibe verbaut. Dies macht das Design der Uhr noch unaufdringlicher. Der Mikrocontroller zur Ansteuerung ist im Sockel der pxlBlck_RingClock verbaut.

Die detaillierte Bauanleitung zum Aufbau der pxlBlck_RingClock findet Ihr im Artikel pxlBlck – pxlBlck_RingClock aufbauen


pxlBlck_PipeLamp

Die pxlBlck_PipeLamp besteht aus einer 26cm hohen Säule. Hinter der satinierten Plexiglasröhre ist eine 12×8 LED Matrix verbaut, welche verschiedene Animationen und wenn gewünscht auch Ziffernblätter darstellen kann. Im Sockel der pxlBlck_pipeLamp lassen sich bis zu vier Neigungsschalter verbauen. Damit können durch neigen und kippen der pxlBlck_pipeLamp benutzerdefinierte Aktionen ausgelöst werden.

Die detaillierte Bauanleitung zum Aufbau der pxlBlck_RingClock findet Ihr im Artikel pxlBlck – pxlBlck_PipeLamp aufbauen


Das pxlBlck plugin

Um die verschiedenen Plattformen anzusteuern, könnt Ihr das pxlBlck-Plugin für ESPEasy verwenden. ESPEasy ist ein Framework für den die Mikrocontroller ESP8266 und ESP32. Dieses kann mithilfe von Plugins um dessen Grundfunktionalität erweitert werden.

Das pxlBlck-Plugin ist so ein Plugin. Es übernimmt die Ansteuerung der verschiedenen Plattformen und bietet dazu auch noch verschiedene Funktionen, Animationen und Features, welche über Befehle ausgeführt werden können.

Wie Ihr dieses Plugin inkl. ESPEasy auf Eurer pxlBlck-Platform installiert und die verschiedenen Features nutzt, ist in den folgenden Artikeln beschrieben.


Ich hoffe bei euch hat alles wie beschrieben funktioniert. Falls nicht oder ihr Fragen oder Anregungen habt lasst es mich in den Kommentaren bitte wissen. Ich trage dies dann ggf. in den Artikel nach.
Auch Ideen für neue Projekte sind immer gerne willkommen. 🙂

Fab

P.S. Viele dieser Projekte - besonders die Hardwareprojekte - kosten viel Zeit und Geld. Natürlich mache ich das weil ich Spaß daran habe, aber wenn Du es cool findest, dass ich die Infos dazu mit Euch teile, würde ich mich über eine kleine Spende an die Kaffeekasse freuen. 🙂

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.